Reports and Briefs
Charts and Graphics
American Almanac
UNCENSORED
Web-extras
Archive
Journal of Children & Poverty
PovertyHistory.org

UNCENSORED

Resources and References

FEATURES

Reaching into the Shadows

Pew Research Center; http://pewresearch.org/pubs/1190/portraitunauthorized-immigrants-states Washington, DC National Housing Law Project; http://www.nhlp.org San Francisco, CA California Rural Legal Assistance Foundation; http://www.crlaf.org Sacramento, CA Annunciation House; http://annunciationhouse.org El Paso, TX Immigration Center for Women and Children; http://icwclaw.org Los Angeles, CA El Centro; http://www.elcentroinc.com Kansas City, KS New York Times; http://www.nytimes.com/interactive/2012/04/22/us/anti-illegal-immigration-laws-in-states.html New York, NY Food Bank of North Alabama; http://fbofna.org Huntsville, AL.

Little Becoming Less

Center on Budget and Policy Priorities; http://www.cbpp.org, Washington, DC U.S. Department of Agriculture; http://www.ers.usda.gov/publications/err-economic-researchreport/err132.aspx Washington, DC The Center for Hunger-Free Communities, Children’s HealthWatch, and Drexel University’s School of Public Health; http://www.centerforhungerfreecommunities.org/ Coalition Against Hunger; http://www.hungercoalition.org Philadelphia, PA Pennsylvania Hunger Action Center; http://www.pahunger.org/html/about/about.html Enola, PA Just Harvest; http://www.justharvest.org/ Pittsburgh, PA Squirrel Hill Food Pantry; http://www.sqfoodpantry.org/ Pittsburgh, PA Kansas Action for Children; http://www.kac.org/ Topeka, KS Supportive Parents Information Network; http://www.midcitycan.org/component/content/article/49-calworkswelfare-to-work-advocacy/262-supportiveparents-information-network-inc-spin?directory=165 San Diego, CA Feeding South Florida; http://www.feedingsouthflorida.org/home.htm Pembroke Park, FL Lowcountry Food Bank; http://www.lowcountryfoodbank.org/hope Charleston, SC.

Green Thumbs Up

Supportive Housing Network of New York; http://shnny.org/ New York, NY Horticultural Society of New York; http://www.hsny.org/ New York, NY American Horticultural Therapy Association; http://www.ahta.org/content.cfm?id=history King of Prussia, PA My Big Backyard, LLC; http://www.webixi.com/mybigbackyard/about_horticulture_therapy.html Denton, MD Homeless Garden Project; http://www.homelessgardenproject.org/index.php Santa Cruz, CA Gateway Greening; http://www.gatewaygreening.org St. Louis, MO The Bridge; http://thebridgeny.org New York, NY Georgia’s Place; http://georgiasplacefarm.wordpress.com Brooklyn, NY United Way of New York City; http://unitedwaynyc.org/ New York, NY Praxis Housing Initiatives; http://www.praxishousing.org Bronx, NY.

 

ON THE HOMEFRONT

on the Record

Experts Respond to Questions about the Biggest Misperceptions among the General Public about Homelessness

U.S. Department of Housing and Urban Development; http://portal.hud.gov/hudportal/HUD Washington, DC ■ Family Health Center of Worcester; http://www.fhcw.org/en/HealthServices/SocialServices Worcester, MA ■ Anne Arundel County Public Schools; http://www.aacps.org/ Annapolis, MD ■ Primo Center for Women and Children; http://www.primocenter.org/index.htm Chicago, IL.

The National Perspective

Homeless Youth: Out of Sight, Out of Mind

For a complete list of resources for this article, please visit: ICPHusa.org/ UNCENSORED/Webextras

 

EDITORIALS AND COLUMNS

The Historical Perspective

Excluding the Poor

Bloom, Nicholas Dagen. Public Housing That Worked: New York in the Twentieth Century. Philadelphia: University of Pennsylvania Press, 2009. Coalition for the Homeless. “State of the Homeless 2012,” May 31, 2012. http://www.coalitionforthehomeless.org/pages/state-of-the-homeless-2012. Kessner, Thomas. Fiorello H. La Guardia and the Making of Modern New York. New York: McGraw-Hill, 1989. Murphy, Jarrett. “Chapter 3: Suddenly, No One Wanted to Pay for Public Housing.” City Limits, January 10, 2009. http://www.citylimits.org/news/article_print.cfm?article_id=4380. New York City Housing Authority. “Fact Sheet,” April 26, 2012. http://www.nyc.gov/html/nycha/html/about/factsheet.shtml. Quinn, Christine C. “Record Homelessness Calls for New Approach.” Huffington Post, June 13, 2012. http://www.huffingtonpost.com/christinec-quinn/record-homelessness-calls_b_1594010.html?utm_hp_ ref=new-york Radford, Gail. Modern Housing for America: Policy Struggles in the New Deal Era. Chicago: University of Chicago Press, 1996.

 

UNCENSORED would like to thank the following organizations for sharing photographs for use in this publication: Feeding South Florida; Georgia’s Place; New York City Housing Authority; Squirrel Hill Community Food Pantry; and The Bridge.

Visit Our Other Sites: Quick Links:  

44 Cooper Square
New York, NY 10003
(212) 358-8086

E-mail ICPH | www.ICPHusa.org